RSS Feed

Four Types: Rational, Guardian, Artisan, Idealist

Before I move onto functions, I’d like to discuss the general categories in a little more detail. There are four categories of type, characterized by a two letter combination. Let’s start with those who prefer intuition.

NT: The Intuitive Thinker

Those familiar with MBTI may use these words to describe NTs:

Geeky, nerdy, callous, private, into video games, weird, abstract, lost in thought, highly intelligent, weird, logical, weird, systematic, weird, evil masterminds, hypothetical, trolls, lives in their parent’s basement, socially inept, quirky (a term that can be applied to most intuitives), technologically savvy

Now, these are stereotypes, so keep that in mind. I won’t regurgitate statistics for you, because I myself don’t believe them. I will say that maybe 3% of everyone I have ever met has been an NT. That is being generous. Many people test as NT due to a lack of understanding of MBTI. That’s okay. I’m here to help with clarifying.

NF: The Intuitive Feeler

NF stereotypes

Fighters for a cause, overly emotional, compassionate, seeking their one true love, loyal, abstract thinkers, sentimental, at times very logical, passionate, selective in love, good with words, readers, writers, artists, poets, moral, dreamers, unique, crazy, irrational, strange

I have met a fair number of NFs relative to NTs. This is just my personal experience. Those who prefer intuitive functions tend to be rarer than those who prefer the sensing functions. This probably has to do with evolution.

A bomb falls from the sky

NF- doesn’t notice, too buried in a romance novel

NT- doesn’t notice, as they are too busy thinking about how to make systems more efficient

SJ- notices, calls everyone to order

SP- identifies best course of action. Runs.

This is more for amusement than anything, but there is truth to it. Intuitives tend to be very spacey and lost in thought. And above all, weird. Next, I shall discuss the sensing types.

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

