RSS Feed

Then vs Than

Do not fear the use of then or than. 

Than: used as a comparison.

My wombat is bigger than yours.

My wombat is more aggressive than yours.

Is your wombat scarier than mine?

My wombat will eat your wombat faster than you can think about the ferocity of its teeth

Then: a moment in time, in addition to, therefore, afterward

I was a scarier Frankenstein then (“then” replaces “at that time”)

I went to the concert and then drank with Conner Oberst (“then” can be replaced by “afterwards” or “proceeded to”)

If you wish to argue with me effectively, then you are going to have to make a better case for your wombat (“then you are going” can be replaced by “you need to”)

I ate the turtle soup, then the muskrat bread (“then” can be replaced by “as well as”

In a nutshell: use “than” in comparisons and “then” for pretty much everything else. 

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

