RSS Feed

Getting into the Characters

There are many different writing styles. In this post, we will review two of these.

The Interviewer

My dear friend writes this way. Her characters speak to her, and tell her the story. Now, this may sound like schizophrenia to you. It’s not. It’s actually a brilliant tactic- one that I have a hard time with. There are many excellent character profile templates out there, with questions about your character.

Rather than trying to answer them, tap into your inner self.

Go on. Do it. 

You may feel a little crazy at first. That’s okay. All writers are bonkers. It’s a known fact. You put it on your resume.

Get a feel for them. Do you find your characters speak easily do you, or do you find yourself imagining them more? My friend, who uses this tactic, has a splendid knack for dialogue. This is why this works so well for her. If you have a knack for dialogue, or at least find you enjoy writing dialogue the most, give this a shot. If not, let’s move onto the next tactic (which I find myself engaging in).

The Observer

As I mentioned in a previous post, I don’t see words.

I see pictures when I read.

I sense the soft glow of the lights, the fury written across the face, the awkward sounds emitting from the room next to me (oh wait, that’s reality).

When I wrote the first page of my book, I felt like I was watching a movie, and simply wrote what I observed (that is the anthropologist in me). I personally find this a very fun way to write. I get to relax (a little) and watch my character’s crazy antics.

Using Music as a Tool

Once you get a feel for your characters, identify what kind of music they listen to.

Create a playlist.

Listen and write.

Music is another way to tap into your emotions, and it will enhance your writing, as well as ensure that you remain consistent in your writing. 

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

