RSS Feed

Different Turtles

The best words that come out of my mouth are the ones that I hardly think about. This may be slightly counter-intuitive- or perhaps completely so- to many; however, in my case, I find that the words I speak are often the truth about what I think, how I feel, or how I perceive. A friend asked me to tell him stories, anything, because he wanted to know who I was. This is how I responded:

Who I am isn’t where I’ve been, although it does add to who I am. It’s like walking from the sand to the ocean. The experience doesn’t make me a different kind of turtle, but it might make me different from other turtles.

Don’t take me for egotistical- I don’t normally quote myself. However, this was a concept I myself had not consciously recognized. Some people think too hard about what they write. Writing should never be forced. Now, that isn’t to say that one shouldn’t revise the daylights out of what they have written. However, when your foundation is forced, you won’t have the same passionate emphasis. I suppose it all depends on the purpose of your writing.

If you find yourself stuck in writing, just let it out. Literally. Typing or writing without thinking is a powerful thing, if you know how to use it correctly.

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

