RSS Feed

To Sequel, or Not to Sequel. A Story of Rock Climbers and Potential Baldness

That is the question looming in my mind.

Wait, wait, wait just a darn minute. You haven’t even written book one yet. 

Ah, yes, my friends. Thank you for reminding me.

So why in tarnation are you already planning a sequel? Isn’t that like planning to go to Stanford when you are in middle school?

Actually, dear readers, had I planned to go to Stanford, I would be in Stanford right now. Too often in life have I not planned enough and time slips away quickly. It’s like a penguin on a glacier. There’s no stopping it. I was just finishing up the outline, with some interesting details added into the plot, and then I came to it.

The cliff hanger. 

I both love and loathe cliff hangers. I didn’t know what to do about it. In fact, I don’t know what to do about it. Should I rescue my poor rock climber? Should I leave him hanging, like a ’90’s, rejected high five? Here I stand, upon a precipice, and I ponder to myself now: what to do? 

I’ve begun my research into writing sequels, and let me tell you, it is a religious experience. Suddenly I am confronted with:

Even if your first book is successful, you probably won’t make a living off one book.

If readers love the first book, they might just want a second book.

If they want a second book, suddenly your editor, publisher, fans, and critics will all demand equal or greater literary achievement. 

If all these folks demand greater literary achievement, you will want to tear your hair out. 

Thus, if you write a successful first book, you may just end up bald. 

What a terrifying prospect. I’ve been so focused on “I’m a writer I’m writing I’m writing a book I’m pushing forward go go go go GO! GET IT DONE!” that I didn’t really stop to think about what would happen when I cross the finish line. Do I prepare for the next marathon? How do I keep my creative juices flowing?

So many questions. I’m probably still up at nearly 5 in the morning due to the fact I had a nice large cup of coffee. Now that I’ve released this mental block, I’m off to further my outline.

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

