RSS Feed

Self-Help Meets Drill Instructor

That is how you should be able to describe your writing mentality. You must always be thinking two things:

“How can I make my writing even better, in a way that reflects my intentions in portrayal of emotion or depiction in scenes?”

And-

“YOU CAN DO IT NOW! WHAT ARE YOU, SOME KIND OF SISSY? YOU HAVE WRITER’S BLOCK OVER ONE PARAGRAPH?! GO SIGN UP FOR MORE JOBS! DROP YOUR FINGERS AND GIVE ME 20 PAGES!!”

Seriously. A lot of people seem to have one or the other. You should have both. What these two voices represent are:

1. Desire

2. Drive

If you have drive, but not desire, you’ll be bored out of your mind. If you have desire, yet no drive, you are more likely to end up as a struggling artist. So far, I have made over $800 freelance writing (7 jobs).

That’s over $100 a job, and most of them don’t even take me that long. The bulk of my money has come in the last week ($650…yes, it really happened) and that is because I have been obsessively submitting proposals, yet not skimping out on the passion I have for writing.

Don’t embark on such a quest trying to make money, because money doesn’t make you passionate- it gives you drive. There is a difference. Money comes in many forms, but passion does not (with regard to each individual).

It takes a bit of persistence, but it is really just a game of getting your foot in the door. It is a door that slams shut, so be a little cautious. If you keep just staring at the door, opening and closing, and think about how you are a failure- well, in all likelihood you’ll become one.

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

One response »

Leave a Reply

