RSS Feed

No Matter What

Posted on

It’s time to crack down on this novel writing business. I refuse to be one of those people who sits idly, staring away at their computer screen tweeting and surfing the web.

I will have a published book within two years. I will have my manuscript beautifully mastered within a year. I will make a commitment to make writing my novel like a part time job – I will write at least 1,000 words a day, and I will “take time off” where needed, and as i would do with a regular job. I hope to get my book up to 85,000 words. This means, in no more than 85 days, I have will have a fully written manuscript. Then I shall proceed with the fine tuning and editing – I don’t want an editor to have to do too much work. I know how much of a struggle that can be.

In a year, or less, or roughly, I will be able to provide the title of my book and what it took to write it (by now you may have discerned it takes copious amounts of caffeine). Hopefully I’ll be able to provide exciting details about book signings, but that is in the back of my mind.

This is not about the money, or lack thereof.

This is about accomplishing a great feat.

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

7 responses »

  1. I hope your dream comes true! Goals are great, but remember the publishing industry is fickle and you might be querying for a year before you land a bite. But the goal on finishing you draft in 85 days is very realistic. I do a chapter a day, so I finish my drafts within the month, let it stew for two weeks, and then get to outlining the revisions which will probably take a month as well since I try to do a chapter a day for those too. Takes me hours longer, but I have goals too and am super determined.

    Aim high though. Keep that thought you will be published in the next year or whatever because you’ll work that much harder for it.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the feedback! That’s why I am hoping to get it published within two years, but have it finished in a year. I’m hoping passion is enough to drive me through this, although some tools to help me wouldn’t hurt; I need to look into those soon. A chapter a day is a great plan, and I wish I had time to commit to that.

      Some days, it is easy to write a chapter, other days it takes me much longer. Have you published any books yet?

      Reply
      • I’ve got one contracted! I know last year I said I was going to finally start querying. But my heath got in the way. However, after coming through all that, I came back and finally got something.

      • Health is definitely important. I was just talking to a friend about that. I just reviewed your blog, and I really enjoy what you write about. I’m going to have to read your book. It’s nice to review another’s work!

      • Aw! Thank you! I look forward to see your evolution as a writer–and your book’s as well.

      • Thanks! I shall arduously post and re-post; I shall format and reformat, and definitely keep reviewing what you have gone through as a writer.

  2. Pingback: How to Develop & Practice Self Discipline! | rohan7things

Leave a Reply

