RSS Feed

Going In Depth: Functions

Now that I’ve kind of reviewed some of the various functions, let’s discuss them more in detail. Understanding functions can help you greatly when it comes to understanding people and, especially, typing them. Personality types can resemble each other very greatly but, on the level of functions, their differences become quite obvious. Here is a very basic example:

My functions: Ne Ti Fe Si

Ne: sees patterns as a web

Ti: uses logical statements to see reality 

Fe: empathy, what others think

Si: uses past experience to shape present behavior 

ENFP Functions: Ne Fi Te Si

Ne: see patterns as a web

Fi: strong moral code “developed internally”

Te: organizing logic

Si: past experiences shape present behavior 

 

On the front, it is easy for one to say, “oh, they must be really similar.” However, they way I truly see the world differs greatly from an ENFP, even though we are only one letter away. While we are similar on the front, when you get to the internal mechanics there is a different story. Whereas I enjoy making decisions and processing through Ti an ENFP feels much more compelled to funnel information through their strong moral system (Fi). Hopefully this example sheds light on why functions are important. In the next post I will clarify each individual function. 

About minimalnomad

If you're into MBTI, I'm an ENTP. I enjoy pursuing a more minimal life, and traveling as often as I can. I'd say I spend all of my free money on travelling. I lead a life of great adventure and reflection. I'm involved in marketing and writing, and may go back into professionally editing again. Basically, I just yolo around America and, soon, the world.

Leave a Reply

